Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Reflecting on my writing from Week 1, I now have more specific knowledge to go with that general knowledge.  As an adult learner, I feel that my learning style is closely aligned with what was described in this University of Georgia article on Adult Learning (http://projects.coe.uga.edu/epltt/index.php?title=Adult_Learning#Andragogy) which included this list principles defined by Malcolm Knowles:

  • Adults need to be involved in the planning and evaluation of their instruction
  • Experience (including mistakes) provides the basis for learning activities
  • Adults are most interested in learning about subjects that have immediate relevance to their job or personal life
  • Adult learning is problem-centered rather than content-oriented

In Week 1 I asserted that I benefit most from Problem-Based learning which I now know can be seen as falling within the Constructivist Theory of Learning.  I can easily relate my learning experiences with the aspects noted noted by Ertmer: (Behaviorism, Cognitivism, Constructivism: Comparing Critical Features from an Instructional Design Perspective. Performance Improvement Quarterly, 6(4), by P. A. Ertmer & T. J. Newby.) “transfer of knowledge can be facilitated by involvement in authentic tasks anchored in meaningful contexts. . . The goal of instruction is to accurately portray tasks, not to define the structure of learning required to achieve a task.  If learning is decontextualized, there is little hope for transfer to occur.”

The role that technology plays in my life cannot be overstated; it is my life-line and my education-line because my degree is 100% online, which I feel is essential to my learning about Instructional Design.  This site, devoted to the Connectivism Theory of Learning, explains why I feel see the need for such a deep association with technology: http://www.connectivism.ca/ “The wild card in education today is abundance [of information]. . . we can’t make sense of it all. It changes too quickly. Many universities rely on a ‘design today, use for three years’ course design model. It worked great in 1950. [But] in 2009 – not so much.  Greater adaptively of content is required.”

Davis agreed with the Importance of Networks in this article:   http://projects.coe.uga.edu/epltt/ “We can no longer personally experience everything as we try to learn something new.  We must create networks . . . of people, technology, social structures, systems, power grids, etc – learning communities can share their ideas with others, thereby “cross-pollinating” the learning environment.”

And so, those of us who are exploring how to blend technology with education are sharing ideas as soon as they come to us, weaving them together and looking for strengths as we explore.  It must be like scientific researchers who discover, revise and share almost simultaneously.

